The House of Representatives of the 118th Congress gaveled in at 3PM ET on Monday. They had an hour of debate on the rules, which eventually passed along party lines. You can find the full record of the session in the Clerk’s record.

The Speaker appointed seven* Representatives to act as Speaker pro tempore, meaning they can preside over the House Chamber and sign enrolled bills and joint resolutions through the remainder of the 118th Congress.

They then had an hour of debate on H.R. 23: To rescind certain balances made available to the Internal Revenue Service. This is focused on defunding the 87,000 new IRS agents and other provisions for the IRS in the Inflation Reduction Act. 

During the debate, Rep Richard Neal (D-MA) ran the show for the Democrats, while Rep Adrian Smith (R-NE) managed the Republican side. It was hilarious listening to Democrats defend the IRS and peddle nonsense that revealed their disdain for constituents. 

For example, in terms of peddling nonsense, Rep John Larson (D-CT) got big mad, crying about debt and saying the IRS helps people. Also, he rebranded “entitlements” to “earned benefits.” Rep Neal submitted letters from both the IRS and Janet Yellen into the record as evidence of the devastation that would be wrought by defunding the IRS. 

In terms of revealing their disdain, Rep Earl Bluemenaur (D-OR) referred to the American People as “The Heap.” Yes, really. WATCH:

Later, Rep Bill Pascrell (D-NJ) rose “in vigorous opposition” to defunding the IRS. I think he also admitted to concealing his assets when he does his taxes. What do you think? WATCH:

When he finished, he said “I wield.” 

Rep Terri Sewell (D-AL) demanded equity in taxation, suggesting that removing 87,000 IRS agents is about “racial equity and fairness.” WATCH:

H.R. 23 debate eventually concluded and, after brief recess, passed the House 218-210-6.

After Speaker McCarthy read the results of the vote in front of the Chamber, he declared, “Promises kept.” 

The House adjourned until 10AM ET tomorrow. 

*The Representatives appointed are Rep Patrick McHenry (R-NC), Rep Adrian Smith (R-NE), Rep Robert Wittman (R-VA), Rep Andy Harris (R-SC), Rep Richard Hudson (R-NC), Rep John Joyce (R-PA), and Rep Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA).